About Us

Safety Training Awards is the awarding organisation of The Swimming Teachers’ Association, an independent registered charity and national governing body for swimming and lifesaving founded in 1932 with more than 12,000 members, whose objective is:

The preservation of human life by the teaching of swimming, lifesaving and survival techniques.

As an awarding organisation, Safety Training Awards offers and certificates vocational qualifications across a range of swimming teaching, lifesaving, first aid, health and safety and pool plant disciplines. These qualifications are designed to meet both legal requirements and national occupational standards for various industries.

View our Regulated Qualifications

Safety Training Awards is also a CIMSPA Awarding Organisation Partner with many qualifications endorsed too, including all the Level 2 and Level 3 aquatic qualifications and first aid qualifications.

On top of this, Safety Training Awards also provides an extensive continuing professional development (CPD) programme to support leisure industry professionals with updating their knowledge and skills after gaining their qualifications.

Safety Training Awards Regulation

Safety Training Awards is regulated or accredited by the following awarding organisation regulators:

The Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual)

Ofqual is an independent organisation which reports directly to the UK Parliament. They are responsible for the regulation of qualifications, examinations and assessments in England, maintaining standards and confidence in vocational qualifications. STA offer a range of swimming teaching, lifesaving, first aid, health and safety and pool plant qualifications which are on Ofqual’s Register of Regulated Qualifications at levels 1-4.

Qualifications Wales

Qualifications Wales is the regulator of non-degree qualifications and the qualifications system in Wales. It is a Welsh Government sponsored body, independent of government, and is accountable to the National Assembly for Wales.

Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Accreditation

SQA Accreditation regulates approved awarding bodies and their qualifications in Scotland. They are responsible for safeguarding the interests of learners, employers, parents, funding bodies and the Scottish Government.